ACORD Insurtech Leadership List 2020

ACORD, the global standards-setting body for the insurance industry, today announced its annual InsurTech Leaders list. This year’s leaders are presented in conjunction with Alchemy Crew, whose co-founder & CEO Sabine VanderLinden has herself been a perennial member of ACORD’s list. Every year, ACORD evaluates vision, execution, and outcomes to identify the leaders with the greatest current and future ability to change the industry through InsurTech. The 2020 list is expanded to recognize leaders who are driving change in three key focus areas: collaboration, sustainability & inclusion, and global ecosystem-building.

“These leaders are driving tangible outcomes and real change in insurance,” said ACORD President and CEO Bill Pieroni. “The unique challenges of 2020 haven’t changed the fundamental realities of the digital landscape, or the execution imperatives for our industry—they’ve spotlighted previously existing issues, created a sense of urgency, and accelerated change. These InsurTech leaders will play a key role in moving our industry forward.”

In alphabetical order within each category, the 2020 InsurTech Leaders are:


  • Jonathan Beerman

SVP Americas, Chief Technical Accounting & Administration Officer, SCOR

  • Bill Devine

SVP, Business Capabilities Office, Travelers

  • Varun Dua

Co-Founder & CEO, Acko

  • Jennifer Fitzgerald

Co-Founder & CEO, Policygenius

  • Gabe Glynn

Co-Founder & CEO, MākuSafe

  • Ian Macartney

SVP, Head of Innovation, Argo Group

  • Frank Neugebauer

Senior Architect, Cincinnati Financial

  • Bob Olson

CIO Reinsurance, Aon

  • Marshall Sims

Senior Product Owner, Agent Engagement & Integrations, Liberty Mutual / Safeco

  • Assaf Wand

Co-Founder & CEO, Hippo


  • Dame Inga Beale, DBE

Former CEO, Lloyd’s of London

  • Tahir Farooqui

Founder & CEO, Canopy

  • Guy Goldstein

Co-Founder & CEO, Next Insurance

  • Liri Halperin

Co-Founder & CEO, LeO

  • Carolina Klint

Managing Director & Risk Management Leader, Continental Europe, Marsh

  • Tulsi Naidu

CEO, Zurich Insurance UK

  • Sten Saar & Harry Franks

Co-Founders, Zego

  • Rain Takahashi

Founder & CEO, Jauntin

  • Tobias Taupitz

Co-Founder & CEO, Laka

  • Julian Teicke

Co-Founder & CEO, wefox


  • James Birch

Development Director, Ki Insurance and Head of Innovation, Brit Insurance

  • Aldo Capurro

CEO, C Consulting

  • Joe Dainty

AGM London Market Transformation, DXC Technology

  • Emmanuelle Ganne

Senior Analyst, Economics & Statistics Division, World Trade Organization

  • Pascal Lehmann

Head of Americas Operations – P&C Business Management, Swiss Re

  • Shuja Noorani

Chief Marketing Officer, Anoud Technologies

  • Jonathan Prinn

Managing Director, BGC Partners

  • Ian Summers

CEO, Sequel

  • Henri Winand

Co-Founder & CEO, AkinovA

  • Paul Wishman

Vice President, Global Insurance, CGI

“This year we are recognizing the unique work and effort of leaders from around the globe who have driven change and made a difference in 2020. The new year will bring unique opportunities to the world of insurance through emerging technology-led thinking, development, and execution,” said VanderLinden. “Many insurers and InsurTechs are now considering ways to sustain growth while caring for the less fortunate and embedding diversity and inclusion to attract new talent. The future requires new thinking in terms of operational resilience and business model design. These leaders are doing what they can to shape the world of tomorrow.”

About alastair walker 12156 Articles
20 years experience as a journalist and magazine editor. I'm your contact for press releases, events, news and commercial opportunities at Insurance-Edge.Net

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.